PREFACE

The eighth European Particle Accelerator Conference, EPAC'02, took place at the Cité de la Science et de l'Industrie, La Villette-Paris, from Monday to Friday, 3 to 7 June 2002 and was attended by close to 850 delegates from 33 different countries on all continents. Held under the auspices of the European Physical Society Interdivisional Group on Accelerators (EPS-IGA), it was hosted and sponsored jointly by the CEA/DSM and CNRS/IN2P3, with further support from the French Ministry of Research, DGA, ESRF and Synchrotron SOLEIL, in particular to sponsor several young scientists. As at previous conferences in the series, the attendance of thirty-five young European scientists was made possible through the sponsorship of the following European laboratories and institutions: BESSY, CERN, CCLRC, DESY, Forschungszentrum Jülich, Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe, GSI, MSL, PSI. Seven scholarships were also offered by Bergoz and THALES Electron Devices. Fifty-three young scientists in total were thus able to attend the conference through these different programmes. Further sponsorship was also received from THALES Electron Devices and CERCA. The organizers of EPAC are grateful to all sponsors for their valuable support.

The conference was opened by Jean-Louis Laclare, CEA, Chairman of the EPS-IGA and the EPAC'02 Organizing Committee, and by Joël Le Duff, CNRS/LAL, Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee. Franco Cozzani from the European Commission DG RTD opened the conference on behalf of Commissioner Busquin with a presentation entitled *Research in Europe*. CERN's Alvaro de Rujula brought the conference to a close with a presentation entitled *The Future of High Energy Physics and Neutrino Factories*. Close to eighty invited and contributed oral presentations of very high quality were heard during the week, including such unexpected but particularly enjoyable presentations as *Is the Passage of Time Accelerating?* by Etienne Klein, CEA, *Accelerators in Art and Archaeology*, by Jean-Claude Dran of the Musées de France, and *Biology with Synchrotron Radiation after the Human Genome Project* by Carl Bränden, Karolinska Institute.

The scientific programme organized by the EPAC'02 Scientific Programme Committee (SPC) was chaired by Leonid Rivkin, PSI. It spanned four and a half days, with parallel sessions on three mornings and poster sessions on four afternoons. There were 48 invited papers (including the special session for industry and on Technology Transfer organized and chaired by Albin Wrulich, PSI), 30 contributed oral presentations, and close to 900 poster presentations.

An industrial exhibition took place during the first three days of the conference. Thirty-two companies presented their high technology products and services to the conference delegates in an excellent atmosphere conducive to discussions between companies and customers. The exhibition was organized by Bernard Aune, CEA.

The EPS-IGA Accelerator Prizes for 2002 were attributed as follows. The prize for a young physicist or engineer was attributed to Frank Zimmermann, CERN, for his many important contributions to accelerator physics. In particular, he contributed significantly to the understanding of fast ion and electron cloud instabilities, the results of which have greatly benefited the whole accelerator community. The prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field was awarded to Kurt Hübner, CERN, for his excellent leadership in the field of accelerator physics and technology. He has provided guidance for generations of accelerator physicists and engineers, thereby contributing immensely to the prosperity of accelerators at CERN and many other laboratories around the world. The prizes were presented by the Chairman of the 2002 Prizes Selection Committee, Ferdinand Willeke, DESY, and the Chairman of the EPS-IGA, Jean-Louis Laclare.

The main media for the proceedings of this conference is the CD-ROM distributed to all participants. The processing of the electronic files of contributions prior to, during and after the conference was achieved by a dynamic team composed of "experts" and volunteers involved in the preparation of proceedings of the PAC, EPAC, APAC, Linac, Cyclotron and ICALEPCS conference series, members of the Joint Accelerator Conferences Website (JACoW) collaboration. Thanks to the work of this team and the careful preparations and guidance of Terence Garvey from LAL, Pascal Le Roux, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz and John Poole from CERN, a preliminary version of the proceedings was published on the Web on 28 June, exactly three weeks after the conference. The final version was published at the JACoW site during the first week in August.

The success of EPAC'02 can be attributed to the efforts of the OC, chaired by Jean-Louis Laclare, the SPC, chaired by Leonid Rivkin, PSI, the LOC: Bernard Aune, Frédérique Dykstra, Madelaine Gandais, Terence Garvey, Jean-Louis Laclare, Marie-Claude Leproust, Marcel Lieuvin, Nicole Mathieu, Alex Müller, Christine Petit-Jean-Genaz, Brigitte Renard, Yves Terrien, Christian Travier, chaired by Joël Le Duff, local staff from CNRS/IN2P3, CEA/DSM, and of course all of the participants.

Jean-Louis Laclare, Chairman of the EPAC'02 Organizing Committee